Little Gus Portrait

I was about as far away from Gus, a newborn De Brazza monkey, as I could be when I took this photo yesterday. He was just sitting at the very entrance to his outside entrance to his habitat. That was a very dark area so with the heavy crop this isn’t the sharpest photo I’ve ever taken.

Still, after processing, I like the portrait enough to keep it. The expression and body english just capture a serene moment of introspective deep thought that I find appealing. He looks so very young, alone and vulnerable here.

I processed in two different ways, as a pure black & white and as a partial monochrome image. The color shift in the dark enclosure caused a blue cast picked up from the pad on the enclosure floor. I removed the cast and kept the blue pad in one version while removing all color in…

View original post 20 more words

Leave a Reply

